How much does a robotic pool cleaner cost?
What a robotic pool cleaner costs in Australia for a concrete, fibreglass or vinyl pool, by feature tier and warranty, from cordless floor-and-wall models to corded and cordless robots that clean the waterline, read at four retailers, with the electricity a robot uses against a suction cleaner on a variable-speed filtration pump at the 2026–27 Ausgrid (NSW) default rate, a budget for a year, and why the power saving rarely pays for the robot.
A robotic pool cleaner costs about $875 for a cordless floor-and-wall model and $1,024–$2,990 for one that also cleans the waterline, at four Australian retailers on 22 October 2026. Suction cleaners are $299.99–$750. A corded robot uses about $12–$29 of power a year; a suction cleaner on a variable-speed pump adds $43–$101.
The short answer
- By feature tier: cordless floor and walls $875; corded floor, walls and waterline $1,024–$2,795 (median $1,395); cordless floor, walls and waterline $1,190–$2,990 (median $1,599.99). Retailer-published, 22 October 2026.
- Suction cleaners cost $299.99–$750 across five listings, but run on the filtration pump, so their running cost depends on the pump.
- Electricity, 2-hour cycles at Ausgrid’s 2026–27 default 33.1372c: corded robot (120 W rating) at most 8c a cycle, $12.41 a year at 3 a week; suction cleaner on a three-speed pump 28c a cycle, $43.32 a year.
- The electricity payback rule: the cheapest waterline robot costs $724.01 more than the cheapest suction cleaner and saves $30.91–$72.13 a year in power, a payback of 10 to 23 years. Buy a robot for the cleaning, not the power bill.
- List price is a ceiling: one maker lists its cordless robots at $1,974.54 and $2,910.34; one retailer sold the same models for $1,395 and $2,295.
| Tier | Price range | Listings | Electricity per 2-hour cycle | Electricity a year, 3 / 7 cycles a week |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suction cleaner (for comparison; runs on the pool pump) | $299.99–$750 | 5 listings, 2 retailers | None of its own; on a three-speed pump, mid instead of eco speed: 0.838 kWh, 28c | $43.32 / $101.08 |
| Cordless, entry (no wall or waterline cleaning claimed) | $450 | 1 listing | Battery; not stated in the listing | Not calculable |
| Cordless, floor and walls | $875 | 1 model, 2 retailers | 25 W for a 120-minute cycle: 0.05 kWh, 1.7c | $2.58 / $6.03 |
| Corded, floor and walls | $1,995 | 1 listing | As below | As below |
| Corded, floor, walls and waterline | $1,024–$2,795 (median $1,395) | 7 listings, 3 retailers | Power supply rated 120 W: at most 0.24 kWh, 8c, for 2 hours | $12.41 / $28.95 |
| Cordless, floor, walls and waterline | $1,190–$2,990 (median $1,599.99) | 9 listings, 3 retailers | Battery; one cordless model uses 25 W | About the cordless figure above |
How much does a robotic pool cleaner cost in Australia?
Price follows two features more than brand: whether the robot cleans the waterline as well as the floor and walls, and whether it runs on a battery or a floating cable. Across four retailers on 22 October 2026:
- Cordless entry robot, no wall or waterline cleaning claimed in its listing: $450, for pools up to 9 × 5 m.
- Cordless, floor and walls: $875, the same model at two retailers. Its manual gives a 120-minute cycle.
- Corded, floor, walls and waterline: $1,024–$2,795 across seven listings that state a cable, median $1,395. App control and gyro navigation sit at the top of the range.
- Cordless, floor, walls and waterline: $1,190–$2,990 across nine listings, median $1,599.99.
On these listings, a waterline robot costs about $200 more cordless than corded at the median ($1,599.99 against $1,395). Warranties in the listings run 2 to 3 years.
One maker’s 2026 list price for its cordless range is $1,849–$2,910.34; one retailer sold two of those models for $1,395 and $2,295, $579.54 and $615.34 below list. Treat a list price as the ceiling and compare retailers.
Does a robotic pool cleaner save on electricity compared with a suction cleaner?
A little, and only if your filtration pump has more than one speed. A suction cleaner has no motor; the pool pump drives it. One three-speed pump maker’s manual sets automatic cleaner operation at mid flow, 600 W, against 181 W on eco flow for filtering. A robot has its own motor: one corded robot’s manual gives a 120 W input rating, and one cordless robot’s manual 25 W operating power.
Worked at the AER’s 2026–27 default market offer for Ausgrid, 33.1372c a kWh including GST, for a 2-hour cycle:
- Suction cleaner on the three-speed pump: (600 − 181) W × 2 h = 0.838 kWh, about 28c a cycle.
- Corded robot: 120 W × 2 h = at most 0.24 kWh, about 8c. The rating is a ceiling.
- Cordless robot: 25 W × 2 h = 0.05 kWh, under 2c, before charger losses, which the manual does not state.
- A year at 3 cycles a week: $43.32 suction, $12.41 corded robot. At 7 a week: $101.08 and $28.95.
The electricity payback rule: on a variable-speed pump, a corded robot saves about $31–$72 a year in power against a suction cleaner, so the $724.01 gap between the cheapest of each takes 10 to 23 years to repay. At the median robot price, $1,395, it is about 15 years at 7 cycles a week, longer than the 2–3 year warranties. On a single-speed pump that already runs its normal hours, a suction cleaner adds nothing and there is no saving at all.
So a robot is bought for what it does: it catches debris in its own basket rather than the pump basket and filter, it leaves the pump on eco speed, and the waterline models scrub the tile line. Which type suits your pump and debris is on what type of pool cleaner you need; whether a variable-speed pump is worth it at all is on do I need a variable-speed pool pump.
What do I give up with a cheaper robotic pool cleaner?
Read the listing for three things before paying more:
- What it cleans. Floor only, floor and walls, or floor, walls and waterline. The $875 cordless model cleans floor and walls and stops at the bottom of a wall for retrieval.
- Pool length and depth. Listings state limits such as pools up to 8 × 4 m, 10 m or 12 m; one corded robot’s manual needs at least 0.4 m of water, and one cordless listing says not below 50 cm.
- Filter fineness and capacity. Listings range from a 150 micron, 2-litre canister to 70 and 20 micron bags; finer filtration catches more of the dust that otherwise reaches your pool filter.
A cordless robot saves handling a cable but has to be lifted out and charged; the corded models are cheaper for the same coverage at the median. If a cleaner already stops or climbs out, why a pool cleaner stops moving and how to stop a cleaner climbing walls cover the faults.
Is a robotic cleaner included in a new pool quote?
Sometimes, and the type is often left vague. Ask each builder whether a cleaner is included, which tier from the table above, and whether the pump’s speeds suit a suction cleaner if that is what is offered. Pool equipment explained lists the other items to pin down, and is a pool expensive to maintain puts the cleaner in the yearly budget. Then compare pool quotes on the same equipment list; builders in Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne are listed.
Common questions
How much is a good robotic pool cleaner in Australia?
What is the cheapest robotic pool cleaner?
How much electricity does a robotic pool cleaner use?
Is a robotic pool cleaner cheaper to run than a suction cleaner?
Will a robotic pool cleaner pay for itself?
Sources
- National pool shop, pool cleaner collection: suction and robotic cleaner prices and listed coverage (retailer-published, read 22 October 2026)
- Online pool shop, cordless robotic pool cleaner collection: prices and listed coverage (retailer-published, read 22 October 2026)
- Online pool retailer, pool cleaner collection: suction and robotic prices (retailer-published, read 22 October 2026)
- National pool-parts retailer, robotic pool cleaner collection (retailer-published, read 22 October 2026)
- Pool equipment maker’s 2026 product price list: cordless robot list prices inc GST (maker-published, read 22 October 2026)
- Corded robotic pool cleaner user manual: input 120 W, minimum depth 0.4 m (read 22 October 2026)
- Cordless robotic pool cleaner manual: operating power 25 W, 120-minute floor and wall cycle (read 22 October 2026)
- Three-speed pool pump installation and operating instructions: eco 181 W, mid 600 W, automatic cleaner at mid flow (read 22 October 2026)
- Australian Energy Regulator, Default market offer prices 2026–27 final determination: Ausgrid flat rate 33.1372c a kWh; all caps include GST
General information only, current at 2026-10-22. Pool rules differ by state and by council, and penalty amounts are updated regularly. Confirm your own obligations with your council or a registered inspector before acting.
Thinking about a pool?
Compare quotes from builders who work in your postcode. One form, no obligation.
Get my quotes