What are the different types of above-ground pools?
The different types of above-ground pools sold in Australia, from inflatable and frame pools to panel, steel-wall and permanent fibreglass pools, compared on retailer price, height, litres and warranty, with the non-climbable 1,200mm wall test for the barrier, the fence it still needs, and when council approval applies.
There are five types of above-ground pool: inflatable ring, frame, panel-wall, steel-wall liner, and permanent fibreglass, precast or container pools. One Australian retailer lists portable models from $109, and from 0.60m to 1.32m high. Every type over 300mm deep needs a barrier, and only walls of 1.2m or more can form part of it.
The short answer
- Five types: inflatable ring, metal or light frame, panel wall, steel-wall or resin kit with a vinyl liner, and permanent above-ground pools in fibreglass, precast concrete or a shipping container.
- Retail range on 10 October 2026: one Australian retailer lists ten portable models from $109 to $3,299, 0.60m to 1.32m high, and up to 19,156 litres.
- The 1,200mm wall test: 4 of those 10 models are tall enough for the wall to form part of the barrier, and only if it is non-climbable with no bracing or supports in the non-climbable zone. The rest need a full separate fence.
- Every one of them is a regulated pool. Each holds more than 300mm of water, the depth at which a barrier is required in Queensland, Victoria and Western Australia.
- Warranty is the cheapest durability signal. The retailer lists 12 months on light-frame and panel pools and 2 years on heavy-duty frame pools.
| Type and model | Size × height | Water capacity | Retail price | Warranty listed | Can the wall be part of the barrier? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inflatable ring: 8ft inflatable | 2.44m round × 0.61m | Not stated | $109 | Not stated | No: 0.61m is under 1.2m, so the whole pool needs a separate compliant barrier |
| Inflatable ring: 10ft inflatable | 3.05m round × 0.76m | 3,853 L | $129 | Not stated | No: 0.76m is under 1.2m, so the whole pool needs a separate compliant barrier |
| Metal frame: 2.2m rectangular splash pool | 2.2 × 1.5m × 0.60m | 1,662 L (at 90% fill) | $219 | Not stated | No: 0.60m is under 1.2m, so the whole pool needs a separate compliant barrier |
| Metal frame: 3m rectangular splash pool | 3 × 2m × 0.75m | 3,834 L (at 90% fill) | $299 | Not stated | No: 0.75m is under 1.2m, so the whole pool needs a separate compliant barrier |
| Light frame: 10ft round | 3.05m round × 0.76m | 4,485 L | $299 | 12 months | No: 0.76m is under 1.2m, so the whole pool needs a separate compliant barrier |
| Light frame: 12ft round | 3.66m round × 0.99m | 8,592 L | $599 | 12 months | No: 0.99m is under 1.2m, so the whole pool needs a separate compliant barrier |
| Light frame: 15ft round | 4.57m round × 1.22m | 16,805 L | $999 | 12 months | Height passes (1.22m ≥ 1.2m); the wall must also be non-climbable with no bracing or supports in the non-climbable zone, and the ladder still needs a fenced, gated access point |
| Heavy-duty frame: 16ft round | 4.88m round × 1.22m | 19,156 L | $1,899 | 2 years | Height passes (1.22m ≥ 1.2m); the wall must also be non-climbable with no bracing or supports in the non-climbable zone, and the ladder still needs a fenced, gated access point |
| Heavy-duty frame: 18ft rectangular | 5.49 × 2.74m × 1.32m | 17,203 L | $2,699 | 2 years | Height passes (1.32m ≥ 1.2m); the wall must also be non-climbable with no bracing or supports in the non-climbable zone, and the ladder still needs a fenced, gated access point |
| Panel wall: 15ft round | 4.78m round × 1.24m | 16,805 L | $3,299 | 12 months | Height passes (1.24m ≥ 1.2m); the wall must also be non-climbable with no bracing or supports in the non-climbable zone, and the ladder still needs a fenced, gated access point |
| Steel-wall or resin kit pool with vinyl liner | Replacement liners listed at 1,370mm high, 4.5–9.4m long | Not priced here | Liners $1,019–$1,869; pool kits not priced here | Not verified | Height can pass at 1.2m+; same non-climbable and ladder conditions |
| Permanent above-ground: fibreglass, precast or container | Varies | Varies | See our above-ground plunge pool cost page | Ask in writing | Built and approved as a permanent pool |
What are the different types of above-ground pools?
Above-ground pools are usually grouped by how the wall stands up, because that decides price, height, lifespan and whether the pool can be left up all year.
- Inflatable ring pools. An inflatable top ring floats up as the pool fills, and the walls slope out. One retailer lists 2.44m and 3.05m models at 0.61m and 0.76m high for $109 and $129, with a 10-minute set-up time.
- Frame pools. A PVC liner hung from a metal frame. The retailer lists splash pools at 0.60–0.75m, light-frame pools from 0.76m to 1.22m, and heavier-duty frame pools at 1.22–1.32m, from $219 to $2,699.
- Panel-wall pools. Rigid wall panels instead of a hung liner. The retailer’s 15ft panel pool is 1.24m high at $3,299.
- Steel-wall or resin kit pools with a vinyl liner. A permanent-style kit with a corrugated steel or resin wall. The same retailer sells replacement liners 1,370mm high for pools 4.5–9.4m long, at $1,019–$1,869 for the liner alone.
- Permanent above-ground pools. Fibreglass shells, precast plunge pools and converted shipping containers set on a slab or deck. They are priced on what an above-ground plunge pool costs.
What is not an above-ground pool for the rules: anything that cannot hold more than 300mm of water. Western Australia’s Building and Energy applies the barrier rule to portable pools with water more than 30cm deep, and the Victorian Building Authority (VBA) lists above-ground, relocatable and inflatable pools among those covered.
The 1,200mm wall test: which types need a separate fence
The Queensland Building and Construction Commission (QBCC) says the sides of an above-ground pool can be used as part of the fence if they are at least 1,200mm high and non-climbable on the outside, with no bracing or supports within the non-climbable zone. A designated access point such as a ladder must still be surrounded by a permanent fence and gate. Victoria’s rule is set out on above-ground pool barrier rules for the ladder and pump.
Run the retailer’s ten portable models through the height test and only 4 pass: the 1.22m light-frame pool, the two heavy-duty frame pools at 1.22m and 1.32m, and the 1.24m panel pool. The inflatable ring pools, the splash pools and the smaller light-frame pools are all under 1.2m, so the whole pool needs a separate compliant barrier.
Passing on height is not the end of it. Frame pools stand on external legs and supports, and the QBCC test excludes walls with bracing or supports within the non-climbable zone. Ask a pool safety inspector or your council before you rely on a frame pool’s wall, not after the barrier is built around it.
The quotable rule: if the pool is under 1.2m tall, budget for a full pool fence. If it is over 1.2m, budget for at least a fenced and gated ladder. Fence prices are on what a pool fence costs.
Which above-ground pool needs council approval?
Approval rules differ by state, and our page on whether an above-ground pool needs a building permit sets them out. One line is worth checking against the types above because it catches cheap pools.
The City of Newcastle states that development consent is required for pools that can hold 2,000 litres or more, and that portable pools under 2,000 litres are exempt development. On the retailer’s listings, the 2.2m splash pool holds 1,662 L at 90% fill, about 1,847 L full, so it sits under the line. The 10ft inflatable ring pool at 3,853 L, the 3m splash pool at 3,834 L and every frame and panel pool above them sit over it. The 8ft inflatable’s capacity is not listed, so check the box before you assume.
Both still need a barrier: the splash pool is 0.60m deep, double the 300mm threshold. Exempt from consent does not mean exempt from the fence.
What type of above-ground pool lasts the longest?
No retailer publishes a lifespan, so the warranty is the best comparable signal. On the listings we read, light-frame and panel pools carry a 12-month manufacturer’s warranty and heavy-duty frame pools carry 2 years. No warranty was stated on the inflatable ring or splash pool listings.
Steel-wall kit pools and permanent fibreglass, precast and container pools are sold to stay up for years, and their warranties vary by maker. We did not verify a current figure for them, so ask for the warranty in writing and check what it excludes; the liner is usually a separate item from the wall, and the retailer’s 1,370mm replacement liners at $1,019–$1,869 show what that item costs.
If you want a pool that stays up all year, compare a permanent above-ground pool with an inground one on above-ground vs inground pools, and compare pool quotes for both before deciding. When a portable pool reaches the end of its life, removing an above-ground pool has its own cost.
Common questions
What are above-ground pools called?
Does an above-ground pool need a fence?
Can the wall of an above-ground pool be the fence?
What is the cheapest type of above-ground pool?
Which above-ground pool lasts the longest?
Sources
- Clark Rubber: Intex 8ft easy set pool, 2.44m × 0.61m, $109 (retailer-published, read 10 October 2026)
- Clark Rubber: Intex 10ft easy set pool, 3.05m × 0.76m, 3,853 L, $129 (retailer-published, read 10 October 2026)
- Clark Rubber: Intex metal frame splash pool 2.2m, 2.2 × 1.5 × 0.60m, 1,662 L at 90%, $219 (retailer-published, read 10 October 2026)
- Clark Rubber: Intex metal frame splash pool 3m, 3 × 2 × 0.75m, 3,834 L at 90%, $299 (retailer-published, read 10 October 2026)
- Clark Rubber: Intex prism frame pool 10ft, 0.76m, 4,485 L, $299, 12 months (retailer-published, read 10 October 2026)
- Clark Rubber: Intex prism frame pool 12ft, 0.99m, 8,592 L, $599, 12 months (retailer-published, read 10 October 2026)
- Clark Rubber: Intex prism frame pool 15ft, 1.22m, 16,805 L, $999, 12 months (retailer-published, read 10 October 2026)
- Clark Rubber: Intex Ultra XTR frame pool 16ft round, 1.22m, 19,156 L, $1,899, 2 years (retailer-published, read 10 October 2026)
- Clark Rubber: Intex Ultra XTR frame pool 18ft rectangular, 1.32m, 17,203 L, $2,699, 2 years (retailer-published, read 10 October 2026)
- Clark Rubber: Intex graphite panel pool 15ft, 1.24m, 16,805 L, $3,299, 12 months (retailer-published, read 10 October 2026)
- Clark Rubber: replacement pool liners 1,370mm high, $1,019–$1,869 (retailer-published, read 10 October 2026)
- QBCC: Pool fences (above-ground pool or spa sides as part of the fence)
- WA Building and Energy: Swimming pool and spa safety barrier requirements, last updated 2 October 2026
- VBA: Pool and spa inspections and compliance (read via web.archive.org capture of 3 December 2025)
- City of Newcastle: Swimming pool and spa, development consent and the 2,000 litre exemption
General information only, current at 2026-10-10. Pool rules differ by state and by council, and penalty amounts are updated regularly. Confirm your own obligations with your council or a registered inspector before acting.
Thinking about a pool?
Compare quotes from builders who work in your postcode. One form, no obligation.
Get my quotes